Georgia Bulldogs 2010 Football Awards

         HOME           SITEMAP         CONTACT         PRIVACY         PHOTOS        SPONSORS        COMMUNICATIONS

                             THE GEORGIA BULLDOGS HOME                                

Green named Georgia’s MVP at banquet (plus: other awards and Team of Decade)

Wide receiver A.J. Green received the “Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year” award at Georgia’s annual football gala Saturday night in Athens.

Many other awards and honors also were handed out:

  • Most Valuable Offensive Player: Quarterback Aaron Murray.
  • Most Valuable Defensive Player: Outside linebacker Justin Houston.
  • Most Valuable Special Teams Players: Placekicker Blair Walsh and punter Drew Butler.
  • Overall permanent captain: Fullback Shaun Chapas.
  • Offensive captain: Lineman Clint Boling.
  • Defensive captain: Linebacker Akeem Dent.
  • Special teams captain: Butler.
  • David Jacobs Award (for player who portrays courage, spirit, character and determination): Chapas.
  • Leon Farmer Award (for dedication to the strength and conditioning program): Chapas and Boling.
  • Most Improved Players: Wide receiver Marlon Brown (offense); linebacker Darryl Gamble and safety Bacarri Rambo (defense); safety Shawn Williams and cornerback Sanders Commings (special teams).
  • Newcomers of the Year: Murray (offense), safety Alec Ogletree (defense) and Blake Sailors (special teams).
  • Coaches’ Leadership Awards: Center Ben Jones (offense); Dent and end Demarcus Dobbs (defense); Chapas (special teams).
  • Outstanding Scout Team Awards: defensive end Jeremy Longo, offensive lineman Hugh Williams, receiver Michael Erdman, tailback Wes Van Dyke and safety Lucas Redd.


Also at the gala, Georgia’s Team of the Decade, covering the 2001-2010 seasons, was announced. The all-decade team was chosen through online voting, with more than 37,000 ballots cast at the website. The team includes:


DE: Charles Grant and David Pollack

DT: Jeff Owens and Geno Atkins

OLB: Rennie Curran and Boss Bailey

ILB: Dannell Ellerbe and Odell Thurman

CB: Tim Jennings and Asher Allen

FS: Thomas Davis

SS: Greg Blue


C: Ben Jones

OG: Fermando Velasco and Max Jean-Gilles

OT: Jon Stinchcomb and Clint Boling

TE: Ben Watson

WR: Mohamed Massaquoi and A.J. Green

FB: Brannan Southerland

TB: Knowshon Moreno

QB: David Greene


P: Drew Butler

PK: Blair Walsh

   HOME           SITEMAP         CONTACT         PRIVACY         PHOTOS        SPONSORS        COMMUNICATIONS

                                                          THE GEORGIA BULLDOGS HOME